World Hockey Association Champions

World Hockey Association Champions
notes: the World Hockey Association (WHA) was founded for the 1973 season; all champions decided by playoff format; champion presented with AVCO Cup; WHA ceased operations following 1979 season; Edmonton Oilers, Hartford Whalers, Quebec Nordiques, and Winnipeg Jets absorbed by National Hockey League (NHL); seasons listed by years in which they finished even though seasons generally spanned two calendar years
1973 New England Whalers
1974 Houston Aeros
1975 Houston Aeros
1976 Winnipeg Jets
1977 Quebec Nordiques
1978 Winnipeg Jets
1979 Winnipeg Jets
Total Championships (7 total)
1. Winnipeg Jets 3
2. Houston Aeros 2
3. New England Whalers 1
  Quebec Nordiques 1
Consecutive Championships
1. Houston Aeros 1974-1975 2
  Winnipeg Jets 1978-1979 2